Youth soccer syndrome….

Why do we all have to measure ourselves by achievements? Why do we have to be so jealous of what others have accomplished that we want to deny them a chance to celebrate?

I am infertile. I understand feeling awkward and left out on Mother’s Day.  But I also think that we should recognize women for what they do to contribute to society. Being a good mother not only affects the children they have today but the world we will live in, in the future. Just because I can’t have my own recognition doesn’t mean I should try to take it away from others. What would we say if single people started saying ” I don’t think we should celebrate anniversaries because it makes me feel uncomfortable and sad” … huh?

If you don’t like that your church will be having a day of appreciation for mothers then stay home. Don’t be a “soccer mom” that says “we shouldn’t keep score because it will make one team feel like losers”. I truly believe that having trials like this will make you a stronger person and will also help you analyze your priorities. Use your struggles to be a better person, not a whiner. I know what it’s like to want what you can’t have. But is having a baby my biggest goal in life? Or should I be more focused on whether or not my life situations, good and bad, can be used for Christ? Because I am infertile I have come in contact with people who I would never have met that my just be waiting to see how a Christian handles being broken. Maybe my story will lead someone to salvation. But if my whole story is me complaining and whining about what I don’t have and how unfair it is, what have I gained? What have I shown a lost world? That Christians don’t have any more answers to life than them. We may not know when or even if we will ever have kids, but we make the most out of the kids we come in contact with. The youth group at church are our kids. If God never blesses us with a blood born child of our own, we will still have our kids.

That’s what makes a mom. If you aren’t willing to accept that some people my not “recognize” you as a mom, you need to remember it doesn’t matter what they think. God will bless you more when you put all your love into what he’s already given you. God is no respecter of persons. All he want is Math 22:37-39 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, ad with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. So get up and go to church tomorrow, or stay at home and pout, but don’t take the day away from someone else, because it makes you sad. Because if God does bless you, will you still feel so wronged by a day you now fit into?

I Know this is kind of a rant, but in all seriousness, please don’t let your insecurities make others feel bad about the blessings God has given them.

3 thoughts on “Youth soccer syndrome….

  1. EAJACKSON says:

    You are so wonderful! I love your blog! You are an inspiration and your blog always hits the points right square on the head 🙂

Leave a comment